What We Aim To Do is a podcast
about vocation. Featuring conversations
with, artists, writers, and founders, host
Megan Nichols asks questions about
the challenges and joys of pursuing
meaningful work, balancing ambition
with well-being, and finding purpose
in the work we share with the world.

What I Aim To Do: About this Podcast

What We Aim To Do is a podcast about vocation. What are you making, why do you feel you must? How do you design your life so you can make it?

I have a lot of big ideas about what I want this project to look like, but I’ve started enough things to know the project will take it’s own shape- there’s only so much I can do to influence how it unfolds. That said, here are a couple of questions and thoughts I have rolling around in the background:

1. The important changes I’ve made in my life are usually aided by speaking to people who have achieved the things I’m trying to achieve.
2. The more I relate to someone’s challenges, the more I believe I can overcome my own.
3. I’m burnt out by expert-speak.
4. The similarities between business building and art-making are obvious to me but why aren’t more people talking about this?
5. The word “niche” is ruining people’s lives.
6. The people who never think about “legacy” might should start and the people who are always thinking about “legacy” might should take a breath.

A little bit about me

I’ve worked remotely for a decade as freelancer and employee for health startups, authors, coaches, ecommerce shops (so much ecommerce!). I’ve been an executive assistant, project manager, and most recently a copywriter. (Copywriting has always been one piece of my work, now it’s the main focus). Along the way I’ve had my own Etsy shops, Shopify stores, eBay experiments, affiliate experiments. My interest in marketing and operations has been both my work and my main hobby for years.

And then there is poetry. My first poem was published in in 2021. My first poetry chapbook was published in 2023. I’ve attended workshops with Brooklyn Poets, Hugo House, and Kenyon Review Online. I’ve interviewed poets. I’ve been a volunteer reader and then editor for two amazing journals. I love poetry. I love my poetry community.

I have felt divided between wanting to make money and wanting to create art. I have had countless conversations with people who feel the same. There is both a mindset issue – a philosophical divide – and a practical issue. The tools and tactics from startup communities aren’t reaching the artists, and the power of the unconscious, inspiration, and introspection aren’t reaching the founders. Except of course – when it does. And that’s what I’m most curious about – the people who find meaning in their work. The people constructing a life that brings them purpose and resources.

Mostly, I’m curious about makers. I want to talk to people about their projects – where do they get their confidence, how do they overcome resistance, who has helped them along the way, what are they still trying to achieve, what are they aiming to do in this world?


What prompted this podcast

I’ve wanted to podcast since 2010. Interviewing interesting people seemed like the second most fun a person could have (after writing stories and poems). For a decade the desire remained too overwhelming and terrifying to explore.

A few years ago, I started to play around with the idea that I could try this thing – and fail at it – and be just fine. I met people who treated podcasting as a medium, an art form, not an elaborate business venture. The popularity of podcasting helped too – I’m comforted at the idea of being one in a sea of many.

Still, I hoped I could help someone else with their podcast. So I applied to work with podcasters. I casually suggested to friends that if they started a podcast, I’d be happy to co-host. I volunteered marketing strategy to podcasters I knew. I interviewed one friend and was so uncomfortable I never listened to the recording.

Then a few months ago, a Youtuber I adore posted a very vulnerable video about the state of her business and life. When I talk about feeling divided between art and business – when I talk about the intersection of these two worlds – I’m talking about people like her. And she was talking about her struggles honestly and publicly. Impulsively, I emailed her to say thank you and to offer co-hosting a podcast, should she ever start one.

She said let’s try it. Who knows why because I have no experience and no audience.

We had one great unrecorded call. One disaster (but fun) recorded call. And then one wonderful, shareable, recorded interview which is the first episode of What We Aim To Do. What we learned in the process is this:

1. Podcasting is not her priority right now.
2. I want podcasting to be my priority!

We decided I’d take ownership of the project but in my mind, she’s honorary co-host. You’ll hear her on at least two episodes of the podcast, but hopefully many more. You’ll be able to listen to our first episode this June.

The power of other people

I could imagine the vision for the podcast so easily when I imaged her running it. I could see the brand, the guests, the goals, all in an uncomplicated way. When I insert myself into the frame, everything blurs. It’s too hard, I’m too close and nervous and neurotic.

Still, I’m pushing forward. Once I admitted to myself and others what I wanted, I couldn’t keep pretending it was optional.

As I reach out to people for interviews, as I interview, write blog posts, and prepare for the June launch, it helps for me to think “What would she do?” (I’ve also just asked her what she’d do 🙂 ) .

This mental trick of distancing myself from the project is also influencing what I hope to achieve by recording interviews with writers, business owners, freelancers, and artists. When we can see ourselves in others, it helps us believe we’re capable of something similar.

I’m reminded of this quote, “When the Soul wants to experience something she throws out an image in front of her and then steps into it.” – Meister Eckhart.

Publishing a few recorded interviews with friends is a laughably small image. The stakes couldn’t be lower. And yet, it is part of a larger vision of myself. There is a version of myself, that I’ve long wanted, who is able to try publicly. Who is able to speak honestly. This project is a personal gesture toward that as well as, I hope, a collection of images listeners might see part of themselves in.

I will post episodes on this blog, all major podcast platforms, and on Substack, which you can subscribe to here.


What I Aim To Do: About this Podcast

Leave a comment

Podcast cover art: William Michael Harnett, My Gems, 1888